2021 Hawaii QSO Party


The 2021 Hawaii QSO Party begins 1800 HST, Friday, 27 August 2021.

Views expressed in this Hawaii QSO Party article are those of the reporters and correspondents.

Accessed on 27 August 2021, 2230 UTC.

Content supplied by


The above link takes you to the Hawaii QSO Party website.

This post will cover the rules for the annual event.


Here are the rules governing the 2021 Hawaii QSO Party:


Hawai’i   QSO  Party  Rules


Promote contacts between as many Hawai’i and non-Hawai’i stations as possible.


1. Operating period is 48 hours from 0400 UTC Aug 28 through 0359 UTC Aug 30, 2021

2. Stations must be worked only on the 10, 15, 20, 40, 80, and 160 meter bands.

3. Stations can be worked only once per band-mode (CW, SSB, digital).

4. Digital mode include ALL digital modes (RTTY, PSK, QPSK, FT-x, etc) as “digital”

5. Use of spotting networks is permitted and encouraged.

6. Operation must conform to home country regulations.

7. Logs must be submitted electronically no later than 14 days following the event. 


Hawai’i stations send RS/T plus Hawai’i Multiplier

Non-Hawai’i stations send RS/T plus State or Province as appropriate. 

Non-USA / Canada stations send “DX”

NOTE: If you’re mode cannot send the proper QTH name, then a Grid Square (4 characters) is allowed. DETAILS 


S/O QRP Single operator limited to 5 watts or less

S/O LP Single operator limited to 100 watts or less

S/O HP Single operator limited to 1500 watts or legal maximum, which ever is less.

M/S LP Multiple operator, single station (one radio only), 100 watts maximum.

M/S HP Multiple operator, single station (one radio only), 1500 watts or legal limit.

M/M LP Multiple operator, multiple stations, 100 watts maximum.

M/M HP Multiple operator, multiple stations, 1500 watts or legal limit max.


Hawai’i stations work anyone    –   non-Hawai’i stations work only Hawai’i

Note: Each station can be worked three times per band. Once each on CW, SSB, digital (digital is any binary mode including RTTY, FT8, FT4, Winlink P2P, etc.)


SSB: 2 points       CW: 3 points       digital: 3 points

Contest Multipliers

Non-Hawaiian stations: 14 Hawai’i districts per band. Maximum of 84 (6 bands x 14 districts)

See a map and list of Hawai’i multipliers here.

Hawai’i stations: 14 Hawai’i districts plus US states (including DC), plus Canadian provinces, plus DXCC entities. ONCE ONLY – NOT PER BAND –

Note: Grid Squares are allowed if a Muliplier name is not possible for the mode (ex: FT8). Log checking will determine the actual multiplier and apply it to the final score.


Final Score is the total number of QSO points times the number of earned multipliers.


All participants are eligible for a Certificate of Achievement.

Special awards for the top finishers in each Category listed above.

Suggested Frequencies

CW: 1815 or 30-40 kHz up from the bottom edge of each band

SSB: 1845, 3850, 7230, 14250, 21300, 28450 please avoid nets

digital: Follow the ARRL Band Plan

Log Submission

All log must be submitted no later than 14 days after the event at the HQP Log Upload Page

Logs should follow the Cabrillo 3 format.


Several loggers are available that support HQP. They include:

Writelog, N1MM, N3FPJ, SD by EI5DI, GenLog, Skookum Logger

For questions, please email to

Aloha es 73 de Russell Roberts (KH6JRM)

Public Information Officer

Hawaii County, ARRL Pacific Section

%d bloggers like this: